Monday to Saturday 10 am to 5 pm
Get Direction

Fortune Favours the Dead - By Stephen Spotswood

By :Stephen Spotswood

$12.00

$32.99

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Book Condition:

-
+
Overview

The 'razor-sharp' first book in the charming, fast-paced Pentecost and Parker mystery series. 

Meet your new favourite duo, audacious and iconic, and perfect for fans of The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman, The Marvellous Mrs. Maisel, Agatha Christie and M. C. Beaton.

It's 1945 and Lillian Pentecost is the most successful private detective in New York City, but she needs help. Enter Willowjean Parker, a circus runaway - and the perfect assistant. Quick-witted and street-smart, she's a jack-of-all-trades with a unique skill-set. She can pick locks blindfolded, wrestle men twice her size, and throw knives with deadly precision - all of which come in handy working for Ms P. When wealthy young widow Abigail Collins is murdered Pentecost and Parker are hired by the family to track down the culprit. On Halloween night, there was a costume party at the Collins' mansion, where a fortune teller performed a seance which greatly disturbed Abigail. Several hours later her body was discovered bludgeoned to death in her late husband's office. Problem is, the door to the office was locked from the inside. There was no-one else in the room, and the murder weapon was beside the victim; the fortune teller's crystal ball. It looks like an impossible crime, but Pentecost and Parker know there is no such thing...

A 2020 Radio 2 Book Club pick. 

 

Book Information

Format: Paperback

Published: 2020

Category: Fiction

Pages: 400

Dimensions: 233 x 155mm

 

Note: Remaindered books or remainders are printed books that are over stocks and are sold at reduced prices. Remainder books are sometimes marked by the publisher. Or may have some damage.